Commissioned Stift Festival 2018
Publisher Gehrmans Musikförlag
Opus Number 61
Category Chamber Music
Year 2018
Duration 15 min
Instrumentation  violin, violin, viola, cello


Program note

My second string quartet “Letters” op.61 is a commission by Daniel Rowland and the Stift Festival 2018 in the Netherlands, and it is dedicated to the Brodsky Quartet. The theme for the Stift Festival of 2018 is words and letters and I was asked if I could compose something on this theme. I got to know that Janacek’s second string quartet “Intimate Letters” was going to be played by the Brodsky Quartet in one concert, so I decided to explore the possibility of writing a commentary piece to his quartet and his letters. My second string quartet “Letters” is inspired by the letters Leos Janacek wrote to his beloved Kamila. I have tried to describe the emotions and words he puts in to his letters; heaven, hope, fear, fire and much more, with my own music.



World premiere 29th of August 2018 at the Stift Festival.

Finnish premiere 15th of June 2019 at Musik vid Havet.

Performance on the 3rd of August 2019 at Kokonainen Festival.